Leadership Team

The Leadership Team for Frontiers: The Heartland Institute for Clinical and Translational Research meets monthly to provide input on key administrative issues. It includes representation from the various Frontiers partner institutions:

Frontiers Administration

Director: Richard J. Barohn, M.D., University Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology, University of Kansas Medical Center
• Deputy Director: Lauren S. Aaronson, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, Professor, KU Medical Center.
• Administrative Director: Kieran Pemberton, Ph.D., KU Medical Center.
• Assistant Program Director: Sarah Schlachter, M.Ed., KU Medical Center.
• Communications Coordinator: Andy Hyland, KU Medical Center.
• Administrative Assistant and Financial contact: Jennifer Maddox, KU Medical Center.


Frontiers Component Leadership

Clinical & Translational Research Education Center (CTREC) Director: Edward Ellerbeck, M.D., MPH, Professor and Chair, Department of Preventive Medicine and Public Health, KU Medical Center.
• CTREC Co-Director: Won Choi, Associate Professor, KU Medical Center.

• Clinical and Translational Science Unit (CTSU) Director: Jeffrey Burns, M.D., Professor, KU Medical Center.
• CTSU Associate Director: Patricia Kluding, PT, Ph.D., Associate Professor, KU Medical Center.
• CTSU Administrative Director: Jo Denton, RN, MSN, CCRN, KU Medical Center.
• CTSU Nurse Manager: Jody Mahan, RN, BSN, CCRN, KU Medical Center.

• Biomedical Informatics Director: Russ Waitman, Ph.D., Assistant Vice Chancellor for Enterprise Analytics, KU Medical Center.
• Biomedical Informatics Assistant Director: Paul Terranova, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Research, KU Medical Center.

• Community Partnership for Health (CPH) Director: Allen Greiner, M.D., Professor and Associate Chair for Research, KU Medical Center.
• CPH Associate Director: Kim Kimminau, Ph.D., Associate Professor, KU Medical Center.
• CPH Project Director: Todd Moore, KU Medical Center.

• Institute for Advancing Medical Innovation (IAMI) Director: Scott Weir, Pharm.D., Ph.D., Professor, KU Medical Center.
• IAMI Deputy Director: Mike Baltezor, Ph.D., Professor, University of Kansas.
• IAMI Deputy Director: Ross Stein, Ph.D., Professor KU Medical Center.

• Biostatistics Director: Matthew Mayo, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Biostatistics, KU Medical Center.

• Personalized Medicine and Outcomes Center Director: John Spertus, M.D., Lauer/Missouri Endowed Chair, University of Missouri-Kansas City; Director, Cardiovascular Education and Outcomes Research, Saint Luke's Health Systems.

• Translational Technologies Resource Center Director: William Brooks, Ph.D., Professor, KU Medical Center.

• Director, Regulatory Knowledge and Support Program and Pilot and Collaborative Studies Program: Greg Kopf, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Administration, KU Medical Center.

• Pharmacokinetic and Pharmacodynamic Program (PK/PD) Director: Maxine Stoltz, Ph.D., Senior Executive Director, Fairway Clinical Research, KU Medical Center.
PK/PD Associate Director: Steven Leeder, Ph.D., Division Chief, Clinical Pharmacology and Medical Toxicology, Children's Mercy Hospital.
• Ethics Program Director: John Lantos, M.D., Director, Children's Mercy Bioethics Center.
• Evaluation, Implementation and Milestones Director: Walter Boulden, Ph.D., Executive Director, Resource Development Institute.
• Evaluation, Implementation and Milestones Project Director: Nancy Twillman, MST-E, MSW, Project Director, Resource Development Institute.
Affiliate Liaisons and Ex Officio Members
• KU-Lawrence Affiliate Liaison: Steve Warren, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Research, KU-Lawrence.
• KU-Lawrence Affiliate Liaison: John Columbo, Ph.D., Professor and Director, Schiefelbusch Institute for Life Span Studies, KU-Lawrence
• K-INBRE Affiliate Liaison: Doug Wright, Ph.D., Professor and K-INBRE Principal Investigator, KU Medical Center.
KU Medical Center-Wichita Affiliate Liaison: Michele Mariscalco, Professor and Associate Dean for Research, KUMC-Wichita.
• Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences Affiliate Liaison: Jeffrey Joyce, Ph.D., Vice President for Research, KCUMB.
• Children's Mercy Affiliate Liaison: Michael Artman, M.D., Joyce C. Hall Distinguished Professor, UMKC; Chair, Department of Pediatrics, CMH.
• Children's Mercy Affiliate Liaison: Gregory Kearns, Pharm.D., Ph.D., Marion Merrill Dow/Missouri Chair of Medical Research, Professor of Pediatrics and Pharmacology, UMKC; Director, Pediatric Pharmacology Research Unit, CMH.
• Children's Mercy Affiliate Liaison: Karen Cox, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, Senior Vice President of Patient Care Services, CMH.
• Children's Mercy Affiliate Liaison: William Truog, M.D., Professor and Associate Chair of Pediatrics, UMKC; Director of the Center for Infant Pulmonary Disorders, CMH.
• University of Missouri-Kansas City Affiliate Liaison: Betty Drees, M.D., Dean, School of Medicine, UMKC.
• University of Missouri-Kansas City Affiliate Liaison: Lynda Bonewald, Ph.D., Interim Vice Chancellor for Research, UMKC; Curator's Professor, School of Dentistry, UMKC.
• University of Missouri-Kansas City Affiliate Liaison: Travis Solomon, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Dean of Research, School of Medicine, UMKC.
• University of Missouri-Kansas City Affiliate Liaison: Patricia Kelly, Ph.D., MPH, RN, FNP, Professor and Associate Dean for Research, School of Nursing, UMKC.
• Saint Luke's Affiliate Liaison: Julie Quirin, Chief Executive Officer, Saint Luke's Hospital and Clinics.
• Kansas City Area Life Sciences Institute Affiliate Liaison: Wayne Carter, DVM, Ph.D., DACVIM, President and CEO, KCALSI.
• Center for Practical Bioethics Affiliate Liaison: Linda Doolin Ward, Executive Vice President/Chief Operating Officer, Center for Practical Bioethics.
• Ex Officio: Doug Girod, M.D., Executive Vice Chancellor, KU Medical Center.